(Don’t forget to send me your Challenge results today and tomorrow! Have you checked out the results page? Everyone is doing awesome!)

In my daily Internet travels, I often come across recipes that look so good, I’m practically licking the screen. Yesterday, I found one that had the potential to not only satisfy my sweet tooth, but actually be healthy. I decided to give it a shot.

I made chocolate pudding from avocados. Yes, avocados. I know it sounds weird, but if you don’t tell anyone they’re in there, they’ll never even know it.

Aquacate del Chocolate (Chocolate Avocado)
By Marillyn Beard
Adapted from Just Making Noise
makes 1 cup (2 servings)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/4-1/3 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 avocados, mashed
  • 1/4 cup, plus 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder (I suggest only using 1/4 c., as the chocolate is pretty strong.)
  • 1/4 cup water
Process banana, raw honey, vanilla in a food processor (or blender) till smooth. Add the avocados, cocoa powder and process till creamy. Scrape down the sides a few times with a rubber spatula. Add the water and process briefly. Store in a sealed container. It will keep for three days in the fridge or two weeks in the freezer. Serve chilled or at room temp. (tastes best chilled!).
TO DOUBLE IT: Increase the amounts to 1 1/2 bananas, 1/2-3/4 cup raw honey, 1 tsp. vanilla, 4 avocados, 3/4 cup cocoa powder and 1/2 cup water.
Molly’s thoughts:
I was so excited to find a dessert recipe with no dairy, no eggs and only natural sugar. I used a little extra honey to up the sweet factor and next time would use a little less cocoa because it’s pretty strong, and definitely eat this chilled. The result was pretty awesome. I even ate some in the morning. The taste is more chocolate-banana than pudding cup, but it’s GOOD. All you’re eating is avocado (good fat!), banana (potassium!), honey and a little cocoa, so you don’t have to feel guilty about a couple spoonfulls after dinner.
I think I’ll definitely make this again, and will also file it away for when I have kids. If only my husband liked chocolate…
