This morning I woke up at 5:50. In the a.m. Just clarifying.

I stumbled around in the dark, threw on my gym clothes and headed out. It was dark out and the moon was still visible. Let it be known that I am not a morning person. As a former college student and now a working woman who yells at the 7 a.m. alarm, this was not an hour I was too familiar with.

But I had to go. Because I knew my friend Ashley was waiting for me. We made a pact to go the gym in the morning and I couldn’t stand her up. As I pulled into the crowded (!) parking lot, my first thought was, “What is wrong with these people?” I guess I was one of those people today.

I had beat Ashley, so I hopped on the elliptical that faces the window and started my workout. I have to say that there was something quite refreshing about working up a sweat while watching the sun rise.

An hour later I left the gym feeling energized, slightly sore,(Note to self: the fat burning routine on the treadmill equals MAJOR hills. Hello, Jello legs.) and with the promise to meet Ashley there again tomorrow morning. At 6 o’clock. In the a.m.

I am determined that this will be the start of a new me. The healthier, skinnier me. And because I think posting it here will keep me motivated, (and also, because apparently I am insane) I will document my progress once a week. And now, the most honest I’ve ever been with the internet:

Starting weight: I don’t know if I’m brave enough to post an actual number, but it’s 10 pounds more than I weighed at college graduation, just two years ago.

Goal: Lose the 10 pounds in no more than five months. A few extra gone would not be a bad thing. Also, tone arms.

Short term goal: Have arms look better by Memorial Day Weekend wedding I am attending.

Observations: While a tomato-red face does represent a strong workout, it is much harder to apply makeup while getting ready for work.

