A funny thing has happened over the past week. I can wake up before 6 a.m. This is huge for me. Sure, I wouldn’t call it fun, but it’s no longer a struggle. I’m really proud of Ashley and myself for getting through our first week. I really went every day except Monday, when the combination of nasty weather and exhaustion from the weekend made it impossible to get out from under the covers. But other than Monday, I did it!

Day two was definitely the hardest, but after that it was all up hill. I have more energy during the day, I’ve cut a minute off my mile time and although I can’t notice a difference yet, I feel stronger, healthier.

And because now that I am Workout Woman I have gotten cocky and started bugging Michael to get up in the morning too. He gently reminded me that it’s only been a week and maybe I should keep my mouth shut until it’s been, I don’t know, a month. Yeah, yeah.

On an unrelated note, while driving to the gym this morning a bird flew into my car. It happened so quickly I couldn’t avoid it and was sickened by the sound of the thump. And then…I heard tweeting. I freaked out because, OH MY GOD, THE BIRD IS STUCK IN MY CAR! and pulled over to inspect. No bird. No tweeting. Ok…I kept driving and heard the tweeting again! At this point I’m almost in tears. I checked again at the gym and again found nothing, but heard lots of tweeting coming from the trees. The birds, they knew. They knew I was a bird killer and they were out to get me. I’m surprised I didn’t come back to a poop covered car.

When I got home there was a whole flock of them sitting in the tree outside our bedroom window plotting my demise. I just know it.

Anyway, progress:

Weight Lost: I don’t actually know the answer to this one. My original plan was to weigh myself once a week, but after talking with Ashley I decided to go with her plan to wait until a month has passed. Then we’ll have put in enough time to really see results. I know the anticipation is going to kill me, but at least I won’t be obsessing and getting on the scale every day.

Observations: Muscles are sore, especially my arms and upper back. But sore is good! Sore is progress! Am strong! I had a massage on Friday (because what a perfect way to reward myself for a week of hard work) and the massage therapist said that my upper butt muscles were tight. Michael got a kick out of that one.

