Michael and I never fight. Ever. We may jokingly banter about leaving dishes on the counter or shoes in the hallway, but never about anything serious. Which is why the argument we had this morning, while not serious at all, threw me off.

I had set the alarm for 5:45 because I thought maybe my back would be better today. (Side note: it’s not. Massage appointment tomorrow because OW.) I had woken up about 20 minutes earlier and realized I was still in pain, but didn’t give the alarm a second thought. Since it’s on Michael’s side, when it began to buzz and I ignored it, he got pissed. After hitting the snooze button three times he slammed the alarm off and grunted something that I didn’t catch. I could tell he was annoyed, though.

When I brought it up at the more respectable hour of 7 a.m. he yelled at me! Basically he was mad because even though I decided I wasn’t getting up, I didn’t turn off the alarm. And because of that he lost some sleep.

Fine, OK. I get it. But I was also annoyed and wasn’t letting it go without a retort.

“I think it’s funny that when the alarm goes off at 4:30 you hit the alarm three of four times and interrupt my sleep. I also think it’s pretty rude that I showered last night because I know you had to work this morning and I’m getting up now to make you lunch!”

“When the alarm goes off at 4:30 it’s for work!”

“Yeah, we all get it. (We? Apparently me and the dog equals “we”.) Mornings are tough. Deal with it!”

And I stomped downstairs flustered and upset. Fifteen minutes later he came downstairs and teased me and hugged me. All was fine again, of course. I guess neither one of us is a morning person.

On an unrelated, yet very cool note? My boss left a comment on this post that just made my whole day.

Now I have to get back to work so he keeps leaving me nice comments.

