I’m a nice person, really, I am. And I appreciate nice, friendly people. Especially when they’re in the service industry. Because no one likes a rude waitress, right? But apparently there is such a thing as too friendly. As was evident with the waitress I encountered yesterday.

I met Sass for lunch at Bertucci’s and had just started reading my menu when “HI THERE! HOW ARE  YOU TODAY?”

I looked up to see where the LOUD VOICE was coming from and was met with the biggest grin I have ever seen from our waitress, who was wearing the scariest eyeliner I had ever seen. Sass had gone to the bathroom so I couldn’t even exchange a glance with her. Instead I replied, “good, thanks,” and expected to place my drink order. Except she wasn’t ready to take my order because,

“HOW WAS YOUR WEEKEND? WHAT DID YOU DO?”

Huh. Now this was odd. I was not expecting to have a conversation about my weekend plans with my waitress so I was completely taken off guard. “Um, not too much. Relaxed, you know…” I said as I leaned back in my chair. Not only was she loud, she was also a close-talker.

“OH YEAH! ME TOO! YOU KNOW, RELAXED, WORKED, STUFF! YOU KNOW?”

Like I said, I appreciate friendliness. I just appreciate it in much smaller doses.

And not so much right next to my face.

** A big thanks to Anna for pointing out Blogs of the Day. I never knew I made it to #28!

