This morning my boss informed me that I might have to do a television interview today. Huh? What? It is only Tuesday, right? And only 3/4 of my brain has returned from vacation and aren’t you forgetting I’ve never actually BEEN ON TV BEFORE?

Of course I didn’t say that. I just nervously smiled and said OK. Because as freaked as I was, if I had to do it, I would do it. And rock it. I hoped.

Luckily for me (and the entire state of Connecticut), someone much more qualified to speak on the designated topic was able to do it. So my job was just to supervise the interview.

The interview and the B-Roll shots went fine. Until the reporter made his way to a particular spot along the water to shoot his stand-up and bridge.

“A bridge is in the middle of the story, Molly,” he said. “You know, like a bridge between the beginning and end.”

Golly gee shucks. Sure is kind of you explain to me the meaning of a “bridge”. That there school I done gone to didn’t learn us much about them here journalism. Maybe next you can explain to me the meaning of a lead.

No? What about the meaning of arrogant and condescending?

I politely smiled and told him, yes, I remember that from my four years in college as a journalism major.

Update: Guess who was just on public access television? THIS GIRL. Right here.

