Michael was working last night and since I didn’t have anything planned, I decided to relax on the couch and watch some TV. Turns out there’s nothing that really sparks my interest on Thursday night, so I was flipping the channels. For some reason I stopped on the Disney Channel. At the very start of High School Musical. Ever head of it? The story follows a jock and a math geek who really liked each other and want to audition for the school play. They can both sing really well, but are afraid of what their friends will think. The best part of the movie is that they’re always breaking out into song and dance.

People, I watched the whole damn thing. All two hours of it. The number one grossing movie for kids ages 6-14? I watched it. It wasn’t good. It was bad. Soooo bad. Yet addicting. They even had the lyrics written out on the bottom of the screen and holy hell was I actually singing along? “Why am I feeling so wrong/My head’s in the game/But my heart’s in the song.”

Here’s what I really don’t get. Zac Efron and Ashley Tisdale. Am I the only one who’s freaked out by Zach’s alien face and Ashley’s giant hair?

During the movie, there was a running countdown of how many hours were left until the premiere of High School Musical 2. When I turned off the television we were at 22 hours and counting.

God help me if I’m home at 8 o’clock tonight.

