The Universe has been seriously kicking my ass this week. First, I unintentionally mooned someone. Then, I think I’m going to end up the lead story on the 11 o’clock news. And then yesterday the Universe chucked another one at me. Right at my face when I wasn’t looking.

My boss and I attended a webinar–a web seminar where we watched a PowerPoint presentation online and called in to listen in on a conference call. At the close of the hour the host opened the phone line to questions, telling listeners to dial a certain code if they wanted to participate rather than just listen.

At least, I thought that’s what she said.

People were randomly asking questions until one guy made a lame joke. People did that polite laugh thing–the awkward “ha, ha…ha”– and I started laughing to myself. I looked over at my boss, who was also laughing.

“Jeesh. That was the fakest laugh ever!” I said to him.

All of the sudden he clasped his hand over the mouth piece of his phone and hissed “You’re not on mute!”

Oh. My. God. I just made fun of someone on a recorded conference call that 80 people were participating in.

I looked over at my boss in panic–expecting him to be pissed. Instead he was laughing. Uncontrollably. Which of course made ME start laughing as well. We were doubled over, doing our best to keep our laughter quiet when the Big Boss walked in.

“What’s so funny?” he asked.

So of course my boss had to tell him. I won’t live this one down for a looong time.

Damn you, Universe. Damn you!

