Dinner wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t great either. I don’t have the energy to rehash it all again, but some highlights included me getting VERY sick to my stomach (nerves plus the first real food I’d eaten all day). When I came out of the bathroom, his grandmother asked me if I was pregnant. Uh, no.

Later, she offered me a shot of German bourbon to ease my stomach. (?) Guess she believed me when I said I wasn’t with child.

His Mother surprised me by not listing a thousand and one church friends on the guest list, but she was visibly upset when we told her we weren’t getting married in a church.

We decided not to bring up the money issue at dinner since it’s really his grandmother–not his mother–that we’re asking. Michael will be speaking to her privately. It’s probably a good idea, since His Mother basically shot down every venue I suggested because “No, Newport is too expensive.”

And oh yeah, she wasn’t happy about the no cake thing either. IT’S OUR WEDDING. If we don’t want cake, there will be no cake.

Guess I rehashed it after all.

But last night will be a distant memory in the next few hours, as this weekend is going to be awesome. It’s starts this afternoon with lunch with one of my college roommates (and bridesmaid!), Elle. We’re going to this amazing restaurant and having lobster mac and cheese. Yes, I said lobster mac and cheese. It really is THAT good. Elle moved to D.C. this summer so I haven’t seen her in awhile. I’m really looking forward to lunch.

Then tonight, Boobeski (another college roommate and bridesmaid!) comes for the weekend. She’s tagging along on visits to two venues tomorrow (cross your fingers that one is THE one) and bringing her collection of In Syle Weddings.

Saturday we’re getting together with a big group of friends to officially celebrate the engagement. I can’t wait.

Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy your Monday off!

Clarification: I have Monday off for Columbus Day, not the Canadian Thanksgiving!

