What did people do before blogs? Write in journals? Maybe I should get a journal.

When I started to blog, I was very upfront with Michael about what I was doing. I told him how I was writing about my life, him included, and that while I would write about practically everything, I wouldn’t write about absolutely everything. I don’t write about things said in confidence, I don’t write about sex and I only touch on his job.

On Sunday we had a conversation that got me a little upset. Or a lot upset, actually. I’m not going to go into details, but it had to do with his mom and anyone who has been reading for awhile knows how she is often a source of angst. After the conversation was over, Michael asked if I was going to blog about it.

“Probably,” I said with a laugh. Until I looked at his expression. “Unless you don’t want me to…”

He didn’t. For the first time in the history of my blog, he asked me not to write about something.

I think that upset me more than the conversation itself, because for almost two years, when something happens in my life, I tell you. My readers. And your comments and emails and feedback are better than a celebration parade or a $100/hour therapy session. You’re a support system, even if I don’t officially know most of you.

I’m not angry for him asking me not to blog about it. I respect him and if he asks me not to, I won’t. No question. But it made me take a step back and really think. These Little Moments isn’t just about me anymore. It’s about him too. And one day it will probably be about our child.

Sometimes I’ll get an email from my mom passing along a message from my aunt: you’re revealing too much. I never agree. I think I walk the fine line between just enough and too much information, but never cross over that line.

But what I have to remember is that Michael didn’t ask to be introduced to a world full of strangers. I just threw him out there. So if he looks into my eyes and asks me not to share, I won’t. Even though I want to. A lot.

Maybe you keep it all under wraps or maybe you put it all out there. How do you keep the balance?