Emily asks:

“Oh man I can not believe you are offering to give shoe advice, my hero! I am planning on charcoal grey dresses for my bridesmaids, what color options do I have with that? Our other accent color is a yellow green and then also a moss green but it will be hard to find shoes to match and I don’t know yet how I feel about dyeables.”

When Emily sent me this question I got really excited because a) it’s about shoes and b) it’s about weddings and since I love both this is a welcome challenge.

Here’s one of the dresses she’s considering:

Her accent colors are yellow and green, which immediately made me think of spring and fabulous shoes. Here are my thoughts: I think using your accent color in your shoes is a great way to tie the whole idea together. A cool neutral like gray can really be kicked up by a bright shoe and luckily for you, both yellow and green are very in this season, making them easy to find in a wide price range.

I emphasize price range because if you’re anything like me, you have a group of very individual bridesmaids who may not all love shoes as much as you do. (I know, it breaks my heart too.) Be cautious when asking your girls to purchase a shoe in an unusual color. I could only convince half of mine that purple was a good idea so in the end I had to scratch it.

These Martine satin heels by J Crew are beautiful (and come in both green and yellow!) but are also $235. Quite the investment.

A more budget-friendly solution might be these from Nine West, only $79.99:

Whichever shoe direction you go in, I’d suggest keeping the color as rich as possible. Look for jewel tones that make an impression and look good on all skin types.

Got a question for the Shoeru? Leave a comment here or email me at tlmoments@gmail.com.

