When I was a child I used to have the same reoccurring dream. I dreamt I was in the car with a parent (it alternated between them) and we stopped at a gas station to fill up. The parent would get out of the car, but forget to pull the emergency break and I would start to roll backwards into traffic. The dream never went any further than that, but would always freak me out.

Eventually I stopped having that dream. I never took the time to figure out what it meant or if it symbolized something. For all I know, I was just afraid of the literal — rolling into traffic.

I browsed “Dream Dictionaries” before and always thought they were pretty hooey. I don’t buy most of the symbolism that’s supposed to go along with it. If there’s deodorant in my dream, I’m pretty sure it doesn’t “represent your inner strength and your ability to rid yourself of harmful and destructive behaviors.” (Yeah, I looked that up.) I’m pretty sure it means I recently needed new deodorant and the process bugged me. (Side note: the new stuff is working out great. Thanks for asking.)

However, over the last few years I’ve had a new reoccurring dream and truth be told, I’m getting tired of it. I had it again last night and if it does symbolize something, I’d like to figure it out so I can deal with it and banish the dream forever.

I’m back in college. It’s the very end of my senior year and we’re all getting ready to graduate. Suddenly I realize that I either failed a class or forgot to take one (it alternates) and I’m not going to be able to graduate. The class is always either French or Math. In my waking life, both are subjects I did well in. In the dream, I panic. I’m not graduating. I have to tell my family. I’m not going to be able to get a job. All my friends are going and I will be stuck.

Then I wake up. Every time.

What does it mean??

