Last time I saw my dad he remarked how thin I looked and asked me what my secret was. Did I just stop eating all the food I liked? After doing the annoying and neurotic “really, you think I look thin? Seriously?” thing for a few minutes, I laughed.

I eat.

I still eat pizza and ice cream and whatever else I could never give up because they’re just too damn good. End of story. If anything has changed, it’s my eating patterns.

For example, as I told you yesterday, I had pizza for dinner the other night. Followed by a Jello pudding pop because they are delicious. But during the day I’m not eating a whole lot. Say what you want, but there’s no way I could continue with my old eating habits and get the results I wanted.

A typical day looks something like this:

Breakfast: a bowl of cereal at home, followed by a piece of fruit when I get to work.

Mid-morning snack: frozen grapes OR an apple OR plum OR some other variety of fruit.

Lunch: varies. Yesterday was a cup of ginger tuna followed by blueberries with a scoop of Cool Whip Lite for “dessert”. (Side note: someone please explain to me the difference between Cool Whip Lite, Cool Whip Free and Cool Whip Sugar Free (ok, I guess I understand that one) because it took me way longer than necessary to decide which stupid thing to pick.)

Usually lunch is some form of protein and a vegetable, except for the days the office decides to go to this place that has amazing cranberry chicken salad on a big yummy roll.

Afternoon snack: more fozen grapes or a granola bar.

Dinner: Michael is all about his vegetables, so I try my best to incorporate at least one into every dinner. Last night we had wheat angle hair pasta with sauteed asparagus, squash and red peppers. It’s GOOD and so easy to make.

Evening snack: I have to confess that I have a sweet tooth, so I try to keep fruit juice pops or something equally not so bad for you in the freezer. Dried mango also hits the spot.

This is of course just a guide. It’s not like some meals aren’t replaced occasionally buy something craptastic and if we’re being honest I still do that stupid girly thing where if I eat crappy one day, I don’t really eat the next.

Prime example: breakfast today is a soy chai and lunch will probably be something like vegetables and….vegetables. Spare me the lecture on how breakfast is the most important meal of the day and blah, blah, blah.

I know. I get it.

But it’s working, ok?

And I didn’t even tell you about the Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup ice cream in the freezer.

I mean, um, the sugar-free, zero-calorie sorbet. Yeah. That one.

