I am seriously counting down the minutes this week because I am so excited for my bridal shower and bachelorette party on Saturday! Obviously, it’s not a surprise shower — which I think is even better because then I don’t have to worry about looking nice every weekend and reading too much into an invitation from a friend for lunch.

Both events are taking place in New York since I have a lot of family there and with all my bridesmaids spread out, it was a nice central location. Unfortunately, one bridesmaid will not be able to attend, as she lives in California and cannot afford the ridiculously expensive plane ticket to fly out. I will miss her like crazy, but take comfort in the fact that she will be sharing the wedding day with me in just 10 weeks.

I’m really looking forward to seeing family and family friends that I haven’t seen in forever, eating some yummy food and going out with my girls.Β  I told them I was all for the cheesy veils, sashes or blinky things. Just no giant penis on a necklace, thankyouverymuch.

Maybe just a medium-sized penis necklace.

I also found out that Bachelorette Part II is in the works for September in Rhode Island, which will be wonderful for the girls that cannot attend the New York one.

I have such truly wonderful friends.

And family. As the wedding gets closer I realize more and more how blessed I am to have such a wonderful support system. My mom and sister have been planning the shower for weeks and I can tell that they’re anxious for it to be great. I hope they can take a deep breath this week and realize that it’s going to be fantastic.

Absolutely fantastic.

