OK so hi. Yes, I’ve totally slacked on this column and I’m very sorry to all of you who have emailed me questions. I’m going to do my best to start working through them and post more often. I blame wedding brain. You can forgive an almost-bride, can’t you?

Dutchess of Kickball asks:

My Dearest Shoeru,

My best friend is getting married in January, outside at a golf course. She is thinking of having us bridesmaids wear silver strappy sandals. It brings about a dilemma. Anything with too thin of a heal and we are going to sink into the grass. Anything too chunky will probably throw me off kilter and make me bust my ass in the grass. Do you have any suggestions? Thanks so much.

P.S. And of course they have to be comfy for the long night of dancing.

This line of questioning seems to be pretty common so I’ll say what I’ve said before. Wedges. They are your best dressy defense against grass and will prevent you (mostly) from sinking.

This is the actual shoe my mom is wearing to my wedding. (It looks fab with her teal dress.)

Sunshine by Me Too, $79

Sunshine by Me Too, $79

 If she’s set on you wearing heels, I would suggest a low, sturdy one much like this.

Prissy by Naturalizer, $65

Prissy by Naturalizer, $65

 Which brings me to this interesting little tidbit. If you are horrified by the idea of your heels getting ruined in grass and dirt, you might want to check out SoleMates. The company claims that by wearing this product, you’ll never sink into grass again.

How does it work? According to the company, the plastic piece (that fits on most heels) attaches to your heel snugly, increasing the surface area of the heel and reducing the pressure on the tip that makes you sink into grass. The piece comes in black, white and clear, so matching it to your shoe should be no problem.

I have no first-hand experience with this product, but I can see how it would work. Now yes, it’s not super attractive. But unless you’re a shoe freak like I am (I always, always notice shoes), I doubt anyone will see a tiny clear piece on the heel of your shoe. Especially if you’re walking through grass.

A pair retails at $11.95 and can be purchased on the SoleMates website, or at certain retail stores. (Check site for locations.)

And now I want to share a Shoeru advice success story! I once answered a question about shoes to wear at a red and yellow wedding and was later contacted by reader Jen who was in a similar situation. We consulted through email and she recently sent me a picture of how it turned out.

It looks great, Jen! So glad I was able to help.

Got a question for the Shoeru? Email me at tlmoments@gmail.com.

