All day yesterday I was worried about our meeting at the church. I was so afraid that we were going to walk in there to find our files spread out before us, a big red circle around my “unaffiliated” religion choice. I half expected to be met by the Reverend much like the evil monkey in Family Guy.

Thou shall be punished!

Luckily, it wasn’t even remotely like that. We were met by the Reverend wearing his baby blue Polo shirt and a big smile. We sat down in a warm and brightly lit office and began to discuss our ceremony.

“How do you see your ceremony?” he asked us. A mix of the traditional and the personal.

OK.

That’s exactly what it’s going to be. We will write our own vows and play our own selection of music, but we’ll also include some of the traditional aspects like the formal vows as well. This church decided that the vows will read “I give myself to you…” instead of “I take you”.

I love this.

Any suggestion I had, he agreed to. Any question I asked, he answered. I felt comfortable and happy and when we walked into the main church and I looked out over the pews, my heart started to beat a little faster.

It’s all happening. It’s really, really happening.

