Jeesh, I don’t know if I should be allowed to call myself the Shoeru if I a) haven’t updated the pictures of shoes on the sidebar in ages (in my defense, I wear my slippers a lot lately) and b) haven’t posted a Shoeru question in oh…awhile. That will change today. Also as a side note, I wasn’t sad in those hair pictures…just looking down to get a the most hair in the shot!

Phoebe says:

Hi Molly! 

I have been reading your blog a lot lately… ok so I have read all the archives- I’m not a stalker, I’m just really bored at work and I really like your blog.  Oh and I’m getting married in a few months and reading all about your pre-wedding planning, problems and joys is something I can totally relate to right now and are making me feel A LOT better!  But I’m writing you because I have 2 shoe questions and you seem like the best person to help me with my dilemma!  

First- the setting of the wedding- super casual and fairly small in Jamaica, in May.  I’m wearing a  very simple dress 

dress1

and I’m having a hard time finding shoes.  I want me shoes to be my something blue (and  a bright, shiny, beautiful blue).  However, I have pinched nerves in my feet, making heels very difficult for me to wear… which makes me so sad, as I’m a shoe-lover like you.  The only heel I can wear is a wedge and absolutely nothing over 2″ (this sucks, I know) but I really want my wedding shoes to have at some sort of heel.  Any suggestions?  I can’t find anything I really like or that will work on my bum feet and if anyone can help me in my quest, its you!  

My second question revolves around my bridesmaids.  They are wearing these dresses in watermelon

bm-dress-1

and I don’t know what to do for shoes.  I want to do something more fun than the regular old dyeables but I’m not sure what style or more importantly, what color… also the wedding is going to be on the beach, so pumps probably won’t work too well.  Oh and all my bridesmaids are taller than me so I don’t want them to have too much of a heel if that is possible.

Any advice/suggestions you can give me would be very, very, very appreciated!!!!

Phoebe, I am so excited you are choosing to use your shoes as your something blue. As you may remember, I wore red shoes on my wedding day so I am a HUGE fan of the colored shoe. Since you’re going to be married on a beach, I think it’s really important to keep your shoes as flat as possible. The last thing you want as you’re walking down the aisle towards your sweetheart is to be tripping in the sand. However, since you asked…I’ll do my best!

To go with the casual, flowy look of your dress, I think a strappy sandal would be gorgeous,especially on the beach. The beading on these, the color and the itty bitty heel would look awesome peeking out from under your hem.

Adriana by Unisa, $60

Adriana by Unisa, $60

 If you’re thinking you’d really like a little height, these wedges in a sweet turquoise could do the trick. The color would also look beautiful in contrast to your bridesmaid’s watermelon dress.

Wesken by Bandolino, $68.95

Wesken by Bandolino, $68.95

 Caparros, maker of many bridal shoes offers this cute D’Orsay in a deep navy. Plus, the low heel might be good for your pinched nerves.

Benson by Caparros, $68.95

Benson by Caparros, $68.95

 For something a little different, a patent mary jane is nice a shiny.

Kely Peep Toe by Miss Sixy, $92

Kely Peep Toe by Miss Sixy, $92

 And my personal favorite for your dress and venue, a low wedge in a delicious blue with the perfect bridal bow. Pricey, but hey, it’s your wedding. And these could totally be worn again.

Sabrina by Kathryn Kerrigan, $178 on sale at Endless.com

Sabrina by Kathryn Kerrigan, $178 on sale at Endless.com

 As far as your bridesmaids go, it depends how crazy you want to go. A light turquoise or even a pale yellow would be a fun contrast to the dress, or a traditional silver strappy sandal always works.

Love Knot Sandal by All Black, $65

Love Knot Sandal by All Black, $65

I’d love to hear what you decide! Please send pictures when you do for a Shoeru update post!

 
Got a question for the Shoeru? Email me at tlmoments@gmail.com.
