Sorry for yesterday’s hiatus, chicas. If I don’t get on the computer first thing in the morning, I probably won’t for the rest of the day. But I’ve been getting some good Shoeru questions so it must be that time again!

Jill says:

I’m going to a dance party/benefit for a local public radio station at this swanky hotel in LA this weekend.  I don’t normally do anything fancy so I had zero dresses or shoes to wear. A friend lent me a dress that fits perfectly but I have no idea what shoes and/or accessories to wear with it. 

See, I’m a beach girl. I wear flip flops, jeans, and t shirts pretty much 365 days out of the year so when it comes time to dress up I’m at a loss.
 
Anyhow, the dress is a dark navy blue tube dress from the Gap. It hits just above the knee and it is a stretchy cotton material (not shiny or patterned at all).  So my question is: do I wear strappy shoes or more of a pump?  Gold? Silver? Nude? Brown?  HELP!!! 
 
I’m short: like 5’2…almost. I have dark, olive skin and my legs are short and muscular
.

Jill, is it OK if I kind of hate you for a minute? Just for a) being in LA where it’s warm and b) having a fabulous party to go to? No? OK, I don’t hate you. Just color me jealous.

So. You call yourself a flip flop girl…does that mean you aren’t comfortable in heels? Because if that’s true, a kitten heel would be just fine. But I’m going to go with the idea that you want some HEELS.

Because this event sounds pretty formal (and I’m guessing it’s in the evening), you could definitely get away with silver or gold (both work with navy), in either a pump or a strappy shoe, but a great color or pattern is even more fun.

If you want to do a solid color palette, a light blue shoe would be fabulous. I wouldn’t do a navy (matchy, matchy blah), but a lighter shoe is enough of a contrast to still look good.

Barb by Nine West, $68

Barb by Nine West, $68

If the dress is pretty classic (it sounds like it is, but hard to tell without a picture), you can go super lady-like with a soft metallic with a pretty bow. I think you can never go wrong with a pretty bow.

Paladin by Nina, $89

Paladin by Nina, $89

Since you’re on the shorter side with self-proclaimed short legs, you want to avoid ankle straps at all costs. The strap will cut your leg line at the ankle, giving you the illusion that you’re shorter than you actually are. A great leg lengthening solution is to

a) wear a shoe that has little to it (and yes, this one is pricey, but you can find something similar for less)

Fawn by Lumiani, $200

Fawn by Lumiani, $200

 or b) find a great nude shoe that will almost blend into the foot, giving you the height you want while tricking the eye that your legs are longer than they are.

Tether by Stuart Weitzman, $298

Tether by Stuart Weitzman, $298

Rocha by Nine West, $79

Rocha by Nine West, $79

I’d love to see what direction you go in, so please send a picture after the event! (Dont’ worry, you can crop your head out if you don’t want to share it with the world.)

Got a question for the Shoeru? Email me at tlmoments@gmail.com.

