After discovering that OnDemand has a ton of workouts, I decided to start giving them a try. I’ve been toying with the idea of cancelling my (very expensive) gym membership in favor of a workout that interests me a little more. With the weather getting warmer, tennis, walks, and maybe some dance classes would be good supplements for cardio and strength training I could do for free in my living room.

I gave Carmen Electra’s Strip Aerobics a try, but after 20 minutes of her warm ups (“Now neck stretches! To the left, two, three, four…now the right! Two, three, four…”), I was bored and tired of her bad cue card reading.

Also, I knew that wasn’t going to be strongΒ  enough cardio and since I was curious about why everyone has been raving about Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred, I figured I’d give it a go.

Holy crap, I hate that woman.

I can’t walk today. I’m doing that old person shuffle that requires very little movement in the thigh area. Her combination lunge slash arm lift slash torture left me in a lot of pain, and I wasn’t expecting the workout to be so non-stop. She goes from cardio to strength to abs and back again with hardly time to catch your breath. I guess that’s why it works.

So…30 Day Shred, day one down. My sister is coming today to visit me for a week and while she continues to recover on my couch from gallbladder sugery, she will have quite a good show watching me sweat and curse at the television.

Ow.

