Here’s a little shoe anecdote for you: I bought these fabulous suede ballet flats on mega-sale, but had only worn them once because the weather had been wet and then wetter and then wet some more. Yesterday was dry and I had places to go and people to see and figured the shoes would add nicely to the ensemble.

They did, and I was happy. And then I came home and Michael was mowing the grass. I was standing at the the top of deck holding a sandwich for him when he asked if I could hand it to him. Without thinking I took two — just two — steps into the yard, and immediately received grass stains on my shoes.

I panicked. And instead of laughing, Michael actually felt bad for me. Probably because I cried. Yeah, really. Not like, bawling, but I definitely cried. Over a grass stain. On shoes. I’m getting my period, I swear.

Anyway! I think this just means I really, really love my shoes.

Tootie wants to know:

My favorite dress shoes are falling apart, and I’m looking for a replacement pair. I’d like a black, comfortable (but still cute) pair of shoes that I can wear with dress pants. I’d like for them to have a heel (so my pants don’t drag on the ground), but I’d prefer a wider heel. And, it would be a bonus if they’re versatile enough that I could also wear them with dark jeans…and if they don’t cost a fortune 🙂

Ah, the black shoe. Why do we love it so? Even though I am a huge fan of popping a basic wardrobe with color, at least a third of my shoes are black. Maybe even  little more.

This one isn’t exactly in the “affordable” category, but they’re damn good shoes. Worth the investment if you’re willing to spend a little extra. Check out the wider heel and a little, but not too much peep toe, perfect for most work environments.

Nexpump by Stuart Weiztman, $200

Nexpump by Stuart Weiztman, $200

I have to admit, this shoe looks a little odd in the picture because that’s a HEEL, but I really think it would serve your purpose under dress pants and jeans. They’re high, but the heel is thick and there is a hidden platform under the ball of your foot. There is the illusion of a high arch, but your foot is actually pretty lifted. One of my most comfortable, yet sexy, pairs of heels has that exact makeup.

Mane by Nine West, $88.95

Mane by Nine West, $88.95

This one is your pretty basic black shoe with just a touch of detail. I can see this taking you through lots of different outfits.

Hearts by Nine West, $67

Hearts by Nine West, $67

Have you considered a wedge? What’s cuter than one in patent leather?

Casper by BCBG Girls, $85

Casper by BCBG Girls, $85

Hope this points you in the right direction, Toots!

 

All of today’s choices can be found on Zappos.com.

 

Got a question for the Shoeru? Email me at tlmoments@gmail.com

