I’m so excited so many of you have joined the Challenge! I’ll be putting together a new page listing everyone participating and a small synopsis of your goals. Give me a few days on that one! The Challenge officially begins tomorrow, but if you want to start today, go for it! Don’t forget to email me on Tuesday and let me know how things are going. New members can join any time, just leave a comment on this post.

I started my healthy living plan with a run. I’ve run before, but when I do it on my own I seem to lack the motivation to really push myself. This time I went with Jen. We were sitting on the beach in the evening when two girls jogged by us. “That’s what we should be doing,” she said to me. And she was right. So we packed up our bags and headed back to my house, where we formed a plan to alternate running with tennis and walking by the beach to have a consistent get-our-bodies-moving plan. Exercise is so much easier with a buddy.

Having her by my side made me push myself much farther on the running loop than I ever had before. I couldn’t do the whole thing, not yet, it’s one of my Challenge goals. But, I ran pretty far. All the way until we hit a road block.

A goat. In the middle of the bike path. Being walked by it’s owner.

I wasn’t quite sure what to make of that, since we don’t live in a farmland area and although I knew someone who lived close by raised goats (you can hear them from my house occasionally), I was not expecting to see one being walked like a dog.

We walked by the goat. Neither one of us knew how a goat would react to people running by it.

At least it made the exercise interesting!

Today I started my morning with a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios with fresh blueberries and soy milk. I’m also going to try out a pilates episode OnDemand. As I work towards my goals, I’m also going to try and keep it fresh. I’ve found that in the past, doing the same routine day after day gets stale pretty quickly and when that happens, I start spending a little too much time on the couch.

Although, I want to spend a little time on the couch today. I’m reading The Other Boleyn Girl and it’s fabulous. A few more chapters will be my reward for pilates!

Happy Challenge-ing!

