I’m a pretty seasoned traveler. Flying is something I almost enjoy. I say almost because yeah, the seats get a little uncomfy and ew, airports are gross, but overall, I like to fly. It stems back to being little and imagining that if I stepped out of the plane at just this minute, I’d be able to walk across those big fluffy clouds. And I always order a Sprite when I fly. It used to be a special treat when I was small — a fizzy soda in the air — so I keep that tradition alive.

But now, here’s my problem. Along with being a seasoned traveler comes being a seasoned packer. I can get everything in my suitcase just so and never forget anything. And when I’m flying, I try not to over-pack. I’m usually pretty good about this, except for the time I went to Vegas with some girlfriends and we packed an entire suitcase full of shoes and bags. Really.

We fly out Friday morning for my brother-in-law’s wedding, and since it’s such a short trip, we will be saving time and carrying on our bag. However, this leads to a problem.

311_header

See, the wedding is in Kansas and in Kansas it’s going to be humid and my hair? Does not like humidity. Which means I’ll need an array of hair products in my possession. I started panicking about this (yeah, I know, big problem. But I did!) yesterday, when my smart husband suggested I buy a bunch of those small plastic bottles and just fill them up with whatever I need. Oh. Right. Why didn’t I think of that?

So OK, we got that down. Now all I have to do is go out and get a stupid quart-sized Ziplock bag because really? It has to be a quart? Not a gallon? Because I have sandwich size and I have gallon sized and they’re not going to fit in the sandwich bag. Which means TSA wins and I have to go buy a box of quart-sized bags. Unless someone wants to donate two of them my way.

After some digging, I found out that you can bring a razor to shave (apparently, they’re called a “safety razor”), but can’t find out for sure if I can bring a tweezer. Does anyone know the answer to this? Is a tweezer considered a weapon?

I find them really handy for when the stranger next to you starts snoring and falling onto your shoulder. One quick pull of a nose hair and they’ll leave you alone the rest of the trip.

