I’ve done a lot of reading up and I’ve made my decision. I’m not getting the H1N1 vaccine.

There’s been much back and forth about it, but in the end, for me, I’ve made what I think is the right decision.

I want to get pregnant, and there’s just not enough information.

I have a pregnant friend who’s getting it, a friend who’s breastfeeding who’s not. My mom’s doctor told her neither she nor her children will be vaccinated.

Why? Because we don’t know what it’s going to do. What are the side affects? If I get the flu shot, then get pregnant, will my baby be safe? Will there be potential birth defects caused by this very new vaccine? If I get it tomorrow, will it prevent me from becoming pregnant?

But then there’s the other side…the most deadly flu virus our country has seen in decades. If I become pregnant soon and don’t get it, am I at a higher risk of miscarriage? Am I at a higher risk of miscarriage anyway FROM the vaccine?

An article today on Canada.com voiced my concerns loud and clear:

“The doubts about the H1N1 vaccine arise from the perception that it’s being rushed into production and foisted on the public without being tested sufficiently, that it might not be effective, and that it might not even be necessary since the virus has so far proved to be less severe than anticipated.

 Adding to the confusion is the fact that Canada has decided to use an adjuvant or immunity-boosting chemical in the vaccine, while the United States has opted for one composed wholly of dead fragments of the H1N1 virus.”

The decision is definitely a personal one, but my decision is to not get the vaccine. If I become pregnant this flu season, I will have a long and detailed chat with my doctor about it. But I think my decision will probably stay the same.

What about you? Are you getting the vaccine? If you’re pregnant, how did you make your decision? If you’re not pregnant, are you still wrestling like the decision, just like me?

