We just got back from our anniversary-moon and it was perfect. We decided to save D.C. for the spring (cherry blossoms!) so I’ll be taking all your recommendations into account. Instead, we went back to a beautiful resort in New Hampshire and it was lovely.

What I didn’t expect, was to wake up on our anniversary with a horrible sore throat. Blah! Wanting to nip it in the bud, I drank a lot of tea and rested and hoped and hoped that it would be better the next day.

It wasn’t. It was worse. I couldn’t swallow without pain and the fire! Oh, the fire!

That’s when I remembered a homeopathic recipe my friend had tried in desperation, when she found herself getting sick again. She has the type of immune system that likes to kick you in the crotch, punch you while you’re down, then spit on you for good measure, so I figured if it worked for her, it could work for me.

The solution sounds a little wacky (and a little gross), but I swear to you, I’m a convert.

– Boil water as though you’re making tea. Just before it boils (so it’s nice and warm, but not scalding) take off stove.

– Cover the bottom of a mug with honey. You’re going to want a lot of honey. Trust me.

– Squeeze in a quarter of a lemon.

– Mix in 2 heaping teaspoons of apple cider vinegar.

Yes, apple cider vinegar is the magic ingredient here (and the reason you’ll want beacoup amounts of honey and lemon to mask the Easter egg flavor). The reason? Apple cider vinegar is known to naturally kill the bad bacteria you don’t want hanging out in your throat.

I made my first mug at 9 p.m. and fell asleep on the couch. I woke up at 11 coughing up some major phlegm, then went to bed.

This morning, I feel amazing! Just the slightest hint of a sore throat and I’m enjoying my second mug right now. (It’s really not that bad. The smell will just transport you back to egg dyeing as a kid.)

You can drink it every few hours as needed, and you can feel good about not putting any drugs into your system.

Give it a shot and let me know if it works for you!

