I started this whole post about a big goal for 2010 and intended on finishing it this morning, but then I woke up a total cranky pants and decided to finish it tomorrow.

I think the reason for the wrong side of the bed-ness is that the middle of the night pee sessions have begun. I’m not used to getting up in the middle of the night and now that I have no choice, well, I don’t like it. See, our bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs, which means getting out of my (warm) bed, husband mumbling in my general direction asking me if something is wrong — then rolling into my spot sound asleep before I can answer, stumbling down the stairs while gripping the banister so my clumsiness doesn’t propel me face first, arriving in the (cold) downstairs, stepping over a big sleeping dog,Β and attempting to do my business without so much as opening one eye.

And then when I get back to bed after doing the whole thing in reverse, I’m wide awake.

I’ve never been a fan of 4 a.m., but I’m becoming quite acquainted with it.

So yes, cranky pants. Which means big goal post will be finished for tomorrow. Assuming I can fall back asleep tonight after my mid-night pee.

I did want to share one little story with you.

We were on our way out the door on Sunday, but since Michael just removed the Christmas tree, I decided to vacuum quickly before leaving so as not to come home to a trail of pine needles.

I had the rug attachment on and was bending down to move something out of the way, when all of the sudden, BAM! My scarf had been pulled intoΒ the beater bar and my face was smack dab on top of the vacuum. It happened so quickly, that my brain said “PULL!” instead of “Turn off vacuum”, which may have had something to do with my oxygen being cut off. So I did, pull, that is, hard. And luckily my scarf came out, along with my face.

I shut off the vacuum, turned around…and burst into tears.

I can’t really explain it. I was fine. My neck was a little sore and I didn’t have any moments flash before my eyes or anything, but that choking feeling? Happening so quickly and unexpected?

SCARY STUFF.

I won’t vacuum with a scarf on anymore.

