There’s been a lot of goal posting around the Blogosphere the last week and I think it’s a really great idea. Not only is it inspiring to readers, but it holds the goal maker a little more accountable when they put it out to the world. So here are my three big goals for 2010:

1. Have a natural childbirth. I mentioned in a previous post that this was something I wanted to do, but would not necessarily refuse drugs if I believed it became crucial to use them. I still believe that, but have decided to go into my baby’s birth with a serious plan. This plan includes using different positions (a birthing ball, a bar, squatting, etc.) and breathing techniques to help work through the pain. Luckily, the hospital where I will be delivering is very supportive of those decisions.

It is also important to me that I not receive an episiotomy, and both Michael and I are prepared to step in if that demand appears it will not be met.

In order to achieve this goal, I’ve been doing a LOT of research on natural childbirth. My library must love me. There will be future posts about this topic.

2. Let go of my technology addiction. Mainly, my cell phone. Since it’s always near me and I have constant internet access, I find myself checking Facebook and Twitter and blogs more times a day than necessary. As a matter of fact, I really don’t even need to be visiting these sites daily. This is a small goal, and I believe the easiest solution is to leave my phone in the next room, as opposed to right by my side all day. If someone calls or texts me, I’ll hear it and retrieve the phone.

3. Become serious about our household budget. When I became pregnant, we started making a monthly budget based on Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University. He’s written a few books (which Michael as read, and I really need to) and has a daily television and radio show. Although some of his beliefs are faith-based and sometimes I believe that takes over a little too much of his show, I strongly believe his principles are really smart.

If you’re curious I can do a whole post about his teachings, but in brief, he has two core systems: one to get out of debt, and one to save for your future. Since we are debt-free aside from our mortgage, our goal is to save for our future, including a bigger home, retirement and our children’s education and future.

His tag line is “If you live like no one else, one day, you can live like no one else.” It’s not always an easy principle to live by, because it requires sacrifice. It means really looking at where your money goes, and how you’re spending it. It means cutting out dinners out and shopping trips and using coupons. It means saving as much as you possibly can now, so that later in life, you can breathe easy.

We started figuring out our monthly expenses based on income, but have yet to seriously stay up on it. That needs to change. I know it will take work, but I’m excited about it.

*****************************************************************

To stay accountable, and to share what I’m learning with anyone who may  be interested, I will touch back on these topics periodically to let you know how it’s going.

