One of the most important things you can do in your pregnancy is gain weight. Of course, it’s suggested you do it in a steady and healthy way (extra veggies, not cookies), but in the end, the goal is the clear: gain weight to promote a healthy pregnancy.

It’s hard to wrap your head around. Four months ago I was still thinking about maintaining a “healthy weight” — feeling a little discouraged that I had gained some of those pre-wedding pounds back. Now the idea of a “healthy weight” has totally changed. Now I have to gain weight, not lose or maintain my weight.

And I will, of course I will. Anything for my baby.

But still, it’s an adjustment.

The “ideal” weight gain for pregnancy is about a pound a week beginning in the 2nd trimester. I say “ideal” because every woman, and every pregnancy is different. Ideal for me is not the same as ideal for anyone else. It’s all dependant on your Body Mass Index, how you gain weight, what you weighed before pregnancy, and a host of other factors. No two women are the same.

As of yesterday, I’ve gained five pounds by the end of my 17th week of pregnancy. I’ve done my best to eat as healthy as possible and I guess it’s working. One thing I want to work on though is incorporating more exercise into my routine. The first trimester really kicked my butt nausea-wise, and exercise was the furthest thing from my mind. The last time I tried to exercise in the first trimester was walking the dog on the beach. I dry heaved into the dunes about six times that day.

And then the second trimester started and it became bitterly cold so yeah. I’ve been lazy. But I’m determined to walk and pratice some prenatal yoga and do light cardio and weights more in the coming weeks.

Yesterday my doctor told me that since my body mass index was on the low side when I became pregnant, a weight gain of 30-35 pounds would be smart for me. That number scares me a little. But I’m not going to stress about it. I’m going to do exactly what I’ve been doing and if I hit that number, I hit that number. If it’s lower, it’s lower and if it’s higher, it’s higher.

In the end, it’s about Baby.

But let’s be honest, I wouldn’t mind if the majority of that weight went right to my belly and not to my face, arms and butt.

What, a girl can dream, right?

