Know what I’ve decided is one of the most annoying tasks in the world? Buying bras. Wait, let me go back a little. Buying bras isn’t usually all that bad. I tend to stick to one store where I’m always the same size and I know the style I like. So aside for the price tag, buying bras isn’t really all that annoying.

So let me rephrase: Recently, buying bras has become one of the most annoying tasks in the world.

I had to do it again yesterday, the second time during my pregnancy. The first time, I decided that since I probably would have to upgrade at least once more, and I have no idea what size I will be after baby comes, I wouldn’t go to my usual store and spend $50+ on one bra that might only be used for a month or so. I had a coupon for a department store, so I spent some time in there. It’s a little overwhelming, because within the department there were at least 10 different brands, and within each brand, at least six or seven different styles. And oh yeah, just because I was a certain size in one brand, did not mean I was that size in another.

Fun.

I finally settled on two from Maidenform — a brand I had never worn before, but was comfortable, supportive, and still cute. Plus, I bought two for under $50, so I felt good about it.

They lasted for a while, until the back strap started creeping up towards my neck and the arm straps were cutting into my skin and the only thing I wanted was to NOT be wearing them.

Which worked out just fine until my neighbor came by and I had to run away from the ringing doorbell in search of a sweatshirt that would hide the high beams, if you get my drift.

So. Yesterday, I had lunch with a friend and decided to stop at Kohl’s on my way home since it was right down the street. I figured they might have Maidenform there also, and I could just upgrade the size in the same style as before.

Ha.

Hahahahahahahahaha.

Yeah, they had Maidenform, but it was all disorganized and there were so. many. styles. that it took forever to dig through the racks and find what I was looking for. I wanted a nude and a black — nothing fancy, just something for every day, but when I’d find what I thought to be my size in one color, I couldn’t find it in the other. And I wasn’t exactly sure of whether I needed to adjust the band size and the cup size, or just one or the other, so I needed at least four options to try on.

And since I couldn’t find them all in the style I knew I liked, I had to venture out into the abyss of other brands. Ugggghhhhh.

It was easy to eliminate the ones that felt cheap and scratchy, or the ones that had so much padding I’d be able to wipe my nose with my chest, but after that, it was a free-for-all.

And THEN, then, after finding options, I had to try them all on and the  price tags! And the  big plastic security tags! Scratching me and making it virtually impossible to really tell how things fit under a shirt.

An hour and a half later I left, with two Maidenforms (again) in a larger band AND cup size, totally burnt out and ready for a nap. Meh. (I fell asleep on the couch at 9 o’clock. I’m pretty sure this was related to the Great Bra Debacle.)

This post had no point other than to rant, but can I also just say that the bigger bras get, the less cute they become? I was unaware how many hooks there are on bras of a certain size.

A lot. The answer is a lot.

