Those you following me on Twitter may have noticed a tweet today where I wrote about stumbling across a link to Craigslist, where I was being discussed in thread about blogs as having become a stereotypical smug pregnant woman.

At first I was taken aback. I was annoyed. I took it to Twitter. And then I sat back and thought about what might have given that person the idea that I had become smug.

Not long after announcing my pregnancy on the blog, I wrote a post where I mentioned it only took us six weeks to conceive. The exact words I wrote were “ummm…no. It only took six weeks.” I realize that the way it was written could have made me appear smug. Like I was gloating in my abilities as a fertile woman, when every day thousands of women are struggling with infertility. If anyone took my comment to mean as much, I apologize. What I meant to convey (badly, apparently) was surprise in the fact that it took such a short time.

If I haven’t conveyed it enough here, I feel honored and blessed each and every day to be carrying a healthy baby. I don’t take that for granted for a second.

Aside from that comment, I realize that 99% of my blog since December has been about being pregnant. However, that’s just how it’s going to be. Because, see, I write about my life. And my life right now is my pregnancy. I want to talk about it all the time and while my friends are great about wanting to hear about it, I realize not everyone in the world is. The beauty about blogs is that if you don’t want to read it, you don’t have to. That little ‘X’ at the top of your screen is a quick exit when your eyes start glazing over at another post about me being pregnant.

All that being said, I want to answer my own question posed in the title: Are Pregnant Women Smug?

My answer is yes.

To an extent.

Hear me out…before becoming pregnant, I would listen to pregnant and mommy friends with interest…for awhile. And after a little bit, I too would glaze over and start thinking about when I could flag down the waiter for my next mojito. While I thought the whole experience sounded cool, there was nothing I could really relate to for very long, and thus became uninterested.

Pregnant women talk about themselves a LOT. We become totally self-centered and have a hard time focusing on life outside the belly. I can only speak to those going through a low-risk pregnancy like myself, but I know that I talk about everything from baby kicks to aches and pains because I’ve never experienced anything like it. No other time in my life have I become more fascinated with my own body and even if people don’t care, I think they must absolutely want to hear about it because I think it’s so cool.

I’ve had “smug” moments come back and bite me in the ass. I thought I’d get through the morning sickness without throwing up. (Wrong). I thought I’d gain weight slowly. (This month? WRONG.) I thought a lot of things, because I had never been through it before.

I think the perception that pregnant women are smug (and I think it must be a perception — the author of the forum said I was the definition of a typical smug pregnant woman, so she must know of more than one), comes from the fact that we walk around in this bubble, rubbing our stomachs looking blissed out and talking about how wonderful pregnancy is, the beauty of creating life, blah, blah, blah.

So while I agree that pregnant women can become annoying, I think maybe “smug” is the wrong word. I think we become more cliché than smug. And maybe a bit boring to anyone who’s not in our shoes at the same time.

I am totally and completely in love with the little boy growing inside of me right now, and I won’t apologize for that. But I will understand if some of you only stop by every now and then so as not to be beat over the head with all baby, all the time.

You can call me a cliché, or even a little self-absorbed right now. But I don’t think I’m all that smug. I mean, how smug can I be while talking about smelly farts and expanding bust lines?

A reader pointed me towards this hilarious video, aptly titled “Pregnant Women are Smug”. It makes light of the whole thing and gave me a good laugh.

Now, back to writing about my pregnancy. Mwahaha.

