Here’s a lesson for you: it doesn’t matter how much lotion you use. Stretch marks happen. Lotions and potions, while great at keeping the pregnancy itchies away, will not prevent the stretch marks. You’ll either get them, or you won’t. And apparently, I’m getting them.

I found my first this week on what used to be my waist. I’m pretty sure only I can tell at this point, but there they are — in all their stretchy glory. Right now they’re basically the color of my skin, but in the sunlight I can see them and I’m just hoping this is as bad as they get. (Ha. Hahahahaha HA.) I know they’re supposed to be a “badge of pregnancy”, but meh. Isn’t the baby badge enough?

Of course, this hasn’t prevented me from rubbing EXTRA lotion on during the day. You know, just in case.

The one place I expected to see a big change was the scar from my belly button piercing. I took it out years ago and it closed completely from the inside, but there’s still a teeny hole right above my belly button that never closed. Knock on wood, but aside from it flattening out a little, it hasn’t really changed all that much. If I could go back and tell 18-year old me one thing, it would be to forget about piercing my belly button. Stupid.

This is the first week where my size has begun to really shock me. Depending on what I’m wearing, sometimes I look bigger or smaller, but when I see my bare belly I sometimes can’t believe it’s mine. I can, however, believe the big ol’ face and arms are mine. I knew they were on their way to visit.

This week’s photos reflect my surprise, I think.

 

Nothing major to report from week 23, except that I think the kid at the pizza place last night couldn’t tell if I was pregnant, or eating way too much pizza. He kept looking nervously from my stomach, to my face, and back to my stomach.

Don’t worry, kid. I’m not going to eat you.

Now give me my pizza.

