Week 29 was tough. I was suddenly uncomfortable in ways I hadn’t felt before. Sore under my ribs. Sore under my belly. Not sleeping, despite the four pillows propped strategically around me, getting heartburn and shortness of breath, and experiencing a few spells of lightheaded-ness.

I was grumpy. And oh yeah, constipated. I try to be honest here about pregnancy, so I’m giving it to you straight. Do not kid yourself thinking you won’t experience constipation. You WILL. The first two trimesters weren’t bad, but all of the sudden my body was all, “What? You’d like a bowel movement? Nah, not today. And not tomorrow either, for that matter. And on the third day, I’ll be nice and give you a little something, but it won’t be satisfying. Enjoy!”

I did everything you’re supposed to do. Drink lots of fluids. Up your fiber intake. Walk.

Notta.

And the longer this went on, the more uncomfortable I became all over, until I started questioning how I was going to get through another 10 weeks feeling that way.

And then we went out to breakfast and all of the sudden I knew. The day had come. Ladies, listen carefully. When you’ve been constipated for three days and you suddenly know it’s coming to an end, it does not matter where you are. Forget your hang ups about going number two in public and run (waddle) to the nearest bathroom, regardless of your location.

I did. And I felt great. Until I got home.

Michael was in the bathroom (we only have one in this house) and I don’t know if it was psychological or what, but suddenly, I had. to. go. NOW. He’s a good man and managed to finish up pretty quickly in response of my desperate pleas to GET OUT OF THE BATHROOM FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, and I went again. Like, really went.

Afterwards he asked me how I felt and my response was a joyful one. “Empty. I feel empty.” FINALLY.

And there’s your TMI for the week.

After not the best week in this pregnancy, I was really looking forward to going for our 3D ultrasound today. The hospital offers a complimentary one, so we took them up on it and I’m really glad we did.

He had the hiccups (which I could feel before the tech pointed them out), and kept opening and closing his mouth and sticking out his tongue. It’s a little distorted because of all the other stuff that’s in there, plus he was moving, but you can get the general idea.

Guys, I’m totally in love.

He has chubby cheeks, just like his Daddy did as a baby. There will be lots of munching on those cheeks.

30 down, 10 to go!

