We’re seven days from TLB’s due date and you know what? I’m pretty sure he’s going to stay in there for the long haul. I guess I made things nice and cozy for him! The best news is that on Tuesday, exactly 14 days from when he took residence on my sciatic nerve…he MOVED. Probably about 90% off of it so I can walk again. WALK. I swear, it was like watchingΒ a child take their first steps the minute I realized I could move from the kitchen to the living room without grabbing onto the wall for support.

Wait. I mean, “walk” is still a relative term, because it’s really a waddle due to how low he is in my pelvis right now, but it’s a 90% pain-free waddle.

Can I get a HIGH FIVE?!

So, I’ve been walking waddling around, eating spicy foods, bouncing on the exercise ball and basically doing everything those old wives tell you to do to get labor going. I know, I know, he’ll come out when he’s ready. They always come out. And now that he’s not causing me to scream in pain and curse my left leg, it’s really OK if he stays in there a little while longer. Don’t get me wrong, we’re ready for him. SO ready to meet him. But if he’s not ready, he’s not ready.

His room is done. The car seat is installed (and has been checked at the police station). There are eight billion newborn to 3-month outfits in his dresser. I’ve gone ahead and gained 33 pounds. The bag is packed. There is a waterproof crib pad under the sheets on my side of the bed just in case.

We. Are. Ready.

Some people have asked me if I’ll be live-blogging my labor and the answer is no. As a matter of fact, I won’t be social media-ing labor at all. No Facebook or TwitterΒ until after he’s born and we’ve told all the people in our lives about his arrival that we’d want to find out from us directly. While I think it’s cool to reader OTHER people’s tweets about what’s going on, it’s just something I’d rather not share minute-by-minute. Instead, I promise you a very thorough, very honest, birth story. I’ll also be supplementing some of my posting with guest posts by some of my favorite mommies in the week or so after he’s born.

I wanted to thank you all for your hospital bag recommendations. They were super helpful and I definitely used a lot of your ideas. I’d also like to thank you all for following me on the journey to baby. Your comments, love and support have been wonderful and I can’t wait to share the stories of This Little Baby with you all in the very near future.

Now, if you will, please think lots of Baby Coming Out thoughts over the next few days for us. That would be great.

