I am so excited for this day. Know why? Because the first day of December means I can officially start Christmas-izing our house. While I admire those who get their tree up the day after Thanksgiving, that would never fly in my house because, here’s the truth: I married a Scrooge.

Ok, ok. He’s not a Scrooge in the sense that he steals canes from the elderly just to knock them down and bah humbugs at children caroling. But he is the type that starts to twitch when radio stations switch to Christmas music in November and the first holiday commercials start appearing on television. And if he had his way, we wouldn’t have a tree till much later in the month.

I, however, am the complete opposite. I have friends who text me the minute the hear the first notes of Christmas music on the radio because they know I love it. We have XM Radio in our cars and they have not one, but TWO all Christmas, all the time stations (“Holiday Traditions” for the old school Bing Crosby-type songs, and “Holly” for the modern covers and newer classics a la Mariah’s All I Want for Christmas is You and *N Sync’s Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays. [Stop laughing at me.]) Needless to say, Owen has been getting quite the holiday music education in the car.

I’m having company this weekend so the tree will have to wait until next week, but I am practically giddy about our baby’s first Christmas. Even if the only thing he appreciates this year is how delicious the wrapping paper tastes as he shoves it in his face.

The only thing that bums me out is that our house is so NOT holiday decoration friendly. We don’t have a porch or a fireplace, so my decorations are usually limited to candles in the windows and a wreath on the door. Classic, yes, but oh how I long for a mantle filled with evergreen boughs and classy, yet sparkly accents. Think Martha Stewart meets Real Simple. I’m actually thisclose to hanging a shelf over the television just to create a faux version of my vision. I wonder what my Scrooge would think of that…

Do you decorate for the holidays? Any ideas on how to make my vision come to life?

