I’d like to start off this post by making an announcement.

Today, not only did I shower, but I washed AND dried my hair. With product, even! Progress, people, progress.

It’s been a good day balance-wise so far. The O-man, who had been blessing us with 7-8.5 hour stretches of sleep the last week, decided to throw a curve ball at us and wake up at 11, then 3, then 4:30. Blaaah. At 3, I fed him, changed him and put him back in the crib. Since his sleep has been improving, he usually babbles to himself for a bit before falling back asleep.

Not this time. This time, he screamed bloody murder like I had just told him NO BOOBIES FOR YOU EVER and wriggled around like a fish. I did my best to soothe him, but when he refused to settle, I implemented the basics of our sleep training by saying goodnight, leaving the room and shutting the door. He continued on for five minutes, at which time Michael went in. He had better luck, as he has no boobs and therefore no milk, plus he hadn’t arrived home from work yet when O went to sleep, so he was both surprised and thrilled to see Daddy.

It didn’t settle him completely, but when Michael left the room (under the pretense that O would now be allowed to cry for about 10 minutes), he fussed for a bit before falling back asleep. Success! So you see, it’s not really a full-blown cry-it-out, it’s more, fuss for a bit and see if you can settle yourself, kiddo.

Sure, he was up about an hour later, at which point I brought him in bed with us because I didn’t think it would be fair to have him go through it again so soon after the last round, but then we all slept together till the blessed hour of 7 a.m. (I never, ever thought I would think 7 was sleeping in.)

Tougher night, but later sleep. Balance.

And.

AND.

As I type this, he’s napping. Without me lying next time him! We even had a coffee date this morning with a friend and her kids and there was no screaming in public. There was spitting up on Mama in public, but that’s ok.

(I might need to change my shirt, though. Spit up smells remarkably like old parmesan. Ick.)

