So guess what? The quiche was a hit! Not only did Michael embrace the idea of eating it for dinner (he caught me off guard right after I wrote the post by asking what was for dinner. “Ummm…quiche?” I answered. He was surprised, but didn’t complain.), but we both really enjoyed how delicious it was. I made it with a side salad and felt full, but not heavy afterwards. And it was even better the next day!

Below is the recipe and photos. I highly suggest making it, and what’s more, it’s so versatile that you can really customize it to your tastes. Although, this version is super delicious, if I do say so myself. Also, I’ve been looking to add some cooking-related feature to the blog semi-regularly, and I think I’ve come up with it. I’m kind of excited in a dorky way about it. Stay tuned for more info starting in March!

Spinach Bacon Quiche
Adapted from this recipe on Allrecipes.com (are you familiar with this site? I love it and think the comment section on each recipe is SO  helpful. They are what inspired me to change things up for the original.)

Ingredients:

– 5 eggs
– 1 cup milk
– 1 1/2 – 2 cups shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar and mozzarella because that’s what I had on hand)
– half one large yellow onion, chopped
– 2 cloves garlic, diced
– 4-6 bacon strips, cooked
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– heaping 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
– heaping 1/2 teaspoon paprika
– 1 package frozen chopped spinach, defrosted (7 mins in the microwave works great) and squeezed dry (use a kitchen towel) to remove excess liquid
– one frozen deep dish 9-inch pie crust (make sure you get the deep dish, as mine filled right to the top)

Directions:

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees

– In a large saute pan, cook bacon until crispy. Remove from pan and place on paper towels to drain.

– In the same pan, cook onions in the bacon grease (YES) until translucent, about 5-8 minutes. Add spinach and garlic and cook for another 5 minutes or so. Break bacon into small pieces and stir into spinach mixture.

– In large bowl, beat eggs. Whisk in milk, 1-1 1/2 cups cheese, salt, mustard and paprika. Add in spinach mixture and stir to combine.

– Pour into pie shell and cover with remaining cheese.

– Bake on foil-lined baking sheet for 40 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean from the center.

That’s it! So easy, so yummy. Here it is (phone picture because I couldn’t wait to eat) straight out of the oven:

And reheated the next day. YUM!!

