Another pin done! This time I decided to try out a recipe for Cookie Dough Dip.

Sounds amazing, right? Only here’s the secret: it’s made from chickpeas.

I’ll admit, that sounded pretty gross to me. While I like chickpeas (hummus? LOVE.), using them in a sweet dish didn’t seem all that appealing. But the recipe promised that it was a healthy recipe that didn’t taste healthy, and the comment section was filled with raves.

I had pretty much all the ingredients, so this was an affordable dish.

The original recipe comes from Chocolate Covered Katie and is as follows:

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas (1 can, drained) (250g)
  • 1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt
  • tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup nut butter (You can get away with using only 3 T. If you use peanut butter, it’ll have a very-slight “pb cookie dough” taste, so if you don’t want this, you can sub oil.)
  • up to 1/4 cup nondairy milk (Start with 1 T, and add more as needed)
  • Sweetener (see original post for notes on sweetner)
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 to 3 T oats (or flaxmeal) (You can omit, but also omit the milk if you do)

Add all ingredients (except for chocolate chips) to a blender or food processor, and blend until very smooth. Then mix in the chocolate chips.

{Source}

I had peanut butter in the house so I used that, and almond milk. I also followed Katie’s suggestion of using 2/3 cup brown sugar as the sweetner (see her post for other options.)

The verdict? Well, initially I didn’t really think it tasted anything like cookie dough. It was ok, but…eh. But I had made it, so I stuck it in the fridge to try again later. After about an hour, I gave it another shot and was pleasantly surprised. I definitely think this dip tastes better served cold. While it’s nothing like eating raw Tollhouse, it is very reminiscent of cold peanut butter cookie dough. If I make it again, I might try it with almond butter (if I can justify coughing up almost TEN DOLLARS for it) and light brown sugar (I used dark).

I’ve been eating it with a spoon, but it would probably be tasty on a variety of fruits/graham crackers/cookies. Michael is not a fan, but he doesn’t like chocolate, so I wouldn’t take his word for it.


You can follow me on Pinterest here!

