image

Have you guys tried these? I’ll admit that when I first heard “peanut butter Cheerios”, I was kind of turned off by it. They were on sale last week, though, so I gave them a shot, and YUM. Probably too sweet for breakfast, but they make a pretty delicious snack.

image

Fatty feet in the bathtub.  Nothing wrong with that.

image

Speaking of fatty feet…LOOK. SHOES THAT FIT!!!! If anyone is curious, those are 6.5 EXTRA WIDE Stride Rites. I used the child foot measuring guide on Zappos to figure out what size to buy. It was dead on for shoe size, but had I gone with their recommendations for whether or not to buy a wide size, it would have been wrong. (His feet did not cross into the “wide” zone, for they are high, not wide across.) So, I recommend the guide, but if you know your kid has fat feet, get the wides. Or, in our case, EXTRA wide. I feel good about them — he’s no longer tripping on too big shoes, so I can take off my “Parent of the Year” button until the next bonehead move I make.

image

Owen is really into trucks. REALLY into trucks. Our living room is littered with every possible vehicle you could imagine. Head down to our family room and there are totes full of trucks and trains. He vrooms, he screeches. It’s fun to watch. It was also funny for him to discover that his baby brother makes a great ramp while in utero. He would drive the car up my stomach and say, “up hill!” Funny kid.

image

One of the biggest perks of living where we do is the ocean. It’s different every day. This week we had a blustery, gray day, and it looked rough and angry. Yet also, beautiful.

image

To sustain my cookie monster husband, I bake a lot. After Owen’s nap is when I get a lot of my cooking and baking done. He has a snack, then reads and plays in the kitchen with me. I love those afternoons. And even though there was raw egg in there, I couldn’t resist a bite!

image

This might deserve its own post, but in short, I’m preparing myself for a natural birth. I had said I wanted to do that last time, but decided on the epidural later on. I don’t regret that decision at all. Owen’s birth was a good one.

After the whole low-lying placenta thing this time, the idea of an intervention-free birth really started to appeal to me more. So this time, I’m preparing for it. (I didn’t do any prep last time, figuring I’d just…I don’t know…breathe through it?) I’m doing some reading, will make a playlist to listen to and (hopefully, if it’s available) use the new labor tub at my hospital. I’m no hero, though. If at some point I decide that pain relief would be really amazing right now (gimme drugs!!), I’ll get the epidural. I think every woman deserves a “hear me roar!” moment after giving birth — however that baby comes out. I’d just like to give it a whirl.

image

Yesterday was a CRANKY DAY. I don’t know what crawled up his butt, but Owen was a pill most of the day. He took it out on some tissues before I noticed. Punk.

(Also, for the record: that rug. I know. It doesn’t go with the furniture AT ALL. It’s what we were using when we had the old couch and I haven’t been able to find a suitable replacement yet. I think at this point, I’m going to head to a local place, pick a neutral rug and have them cut it to size and bind it for me. Then I’ll move this one to the guest room and call it a day. Maybe I should get on that…)

Happy weekend, friends!

