I was making a Walmart run the other day for some essentials and when I threw on my t-shirt, I noticed something. It didn’t come all the way to the bottom of my stomach. It was a strange sensation. I mean, I was never one for belly shirts, so my lower abdomen has pretty much never gone out to meet the world unless I was in a bathing suit. I was going to change, but figured it was just Walmart and I’ve seen a lot worse at Walmart than a little belly skin.

A little slice of belly. (Oh heeeey, 80s workout headband? How YOU doin’?)

When I got home, I figured it was time for a little experiment. The experiment of the Black T-Shirt.

When I became pregnant, a friend loaned me a bag of maternity clothes. It was all cute and I was excited to try on every piece, even though a lot of it didn’t fit me yet. Especially, the Black T-Shirt. When I pulled out that shirt, I literally laughed out loud. It was huge. Square. Ridiculous. It was never going to fit. I called her up and demanded an explanation. There’s no way this fit you, I laughed at her.

WRONG. She said. Just you wait.

I psshaw’d her and returned to trying on the cute little tops.

So here we are months and months later, and I was faced with an issue. This is the maternity t-shirt I wore to Walmart:

Yes.

Here is the Black T-Shirt.

To give you an idea of its size, here it is with a non-maternity t-shirt I wore for at least half of my pregnancy.

As you can see, I had to give that up.

Back in February, Old Navy had a big maternity sale so I ordered a bunch of stuff. Most of it fit, or had a little room to grow, but there were two shirts that when tried on, I figured I’d just send back. They were tent-like and massive and nope, no need to keep these. But then my friend’s voice entered my head and I thought, ok, fine. I’ll just keep in them in the back of the closet, just in case.

I bet you can guess what I’m going to say next.

Yup, they fit. In all their tent-like glory.

And what about the Black T-Shirt? The shirt I avoided putting on for weeks and weeks?

Damn, I hate when my friends are right.